Get to know the peer eds: Cara, Rumana and Allison!

Cara-Rumana-Allison

Cara, Rumana and Allison tabling at YesFest!

Name / year / major:
Ok so we’re nostalgic seniors, who decided to do this together because we love each other.
1. Rumana, Senior, Urban Studies (sociology)
2. Allison, Senior, Psych & dance minor
3. Cara, Senior, Gender Studies & Race and Ethnicity
What is home for you? 
Rumana: Home for me is where my loved ones are (aww)
Allison: Pittsburgh, I’m a yinzer
Cara: San Diego, CA but also Washington Heights next year (with Allison)!
Share your favorite WW office resource:
Allison: The Peer Eds! (That made Rumana say aww).
Cara: Ditto. My peers are the coolest, and are so incredibly knowledgeable
Rumana: The chocolate and yoga balls
Share your fave WW program or event
Rumana: I like office hours because I get the opportunity to meet some really cool Barnard students and just provide space to talk.
Cara: Ditto! I think peer education is crucial for all of us and Well Woman provides the warm physical space for us to do that. Also yoga ball dancing.
Allison: I like decorating cupcakes during finals! The brand of cupcakes we get is dope.
 
What’s one thing you wish students knew about WW space?
Cara: It is for EVERYONE!
Allison: That you can use the books in the library!
Rumana: There’s not requirement to be in the space. Doesn’t matter who you are, or what group you’re in, you can come in.
What are you really passionate / excited about right now?
Rumana: Cooking. Specifically Ethiopian food.
Allison: Our new peer ed apartment full of wellness. Because our apartment is going to be filled with a lot of self care.
Cara: Well i’ve been hype about Chance the Rapper’s album Coloring Book all year, but i’m also weirdly really enjoying working on my thesis? It’s the hardest thing i’ve ever done, but come talk to me about dialogue as means of conflict resolution (oh wow I am a nerd)
Share something you enjoy about being a peer ed
Allison: I enjoy meeting all the cool people that come into the office
Rumana: I really enjoy listening to people, having an environment where being listened to is the priority.
Cara: I really enjoy getting more and more comfortable with questions / learning how to find out information that I don’t already know about wellness in general, but specifically reproductive health stuff.
What is your favorite way to practice self care (in general, or right now)?
Rumana: Going on walks in the park
Cara: Well on account of the whole graduating thing, I’m having lots of feelings. So right now just spending down time with people I love is feeling really good.
Allison: It varies, but generally self care involves my friends or family.
Favorite odd thing in the office?
Rumana: The bouncy balls. They’re not odd, but I love the yoga balls. Also the cats. Also the little boobies, wait they’re not boobies. The uterus and the mamory glands.
Cara: Well the books aren’t odd but I love them, also the yoga balls, also the cats scare me but are somehow also fascinating ?!
Allison: Those freaking cats!! For context, the cats in the dresses…
Leave a Reply

