Get to know the peer eds: Cara!

 

Cara
Name: Cara Hoffman

Year: Junior

Major: WGSS, and Race & Ethnicity

Hometown: San Diego, CA

Favorite WW Activity: CUNTfidence!! For the last three years, it has been a comfortable space to talk about a wide variety of issues, disseminate really important and relevant information, and begin to normalize the conversation around sex positivity and empowerment.

Something you enjoy about being a peer ed: Dispelling myths! It is empowering to know the facts about issues that often feel taboo or elusive, and to be able to direct people to resources that they might not otherwise know exist.

Favorite WW office resource: Our library!! It is one of my favorites on campus (even though I know that Columbia has 8 bajillion books). We have everything from the Badass Feminist Coloring Book, to Nayyirah Waheed poems, to Jennifer Finney Boylan memoirs. And, reading in the office (one of my favorite Barnard spaces) is a wonderful way to take a break from everything going on at school.

Self Care Method: I’m on the rugby team, and I would say that is one of my biggest forms of self care. Both working out, and just being with my team really helps me to re-center, get some anxiety out, and is a way to be around people I love a lot.

Part of an ongoing series–see previous entries here.
Leave a Reply

