Meet the peer eds: Helen!

Helen

Name: Helen Cane

Year: 2017

Major: Political Economics

From: Palo Alto, California

Favorite WW program: Cuntfidence 2014 (There may have been a pt 1 and pt 2?? I loved both)

Something you enjoy about being a peer ed: I love the space. Barnard is a hard hard place to be sometimes, and having a physical place that is warm and comfy and has tea and usually some lovely people who want to talk about interesting things makes Barnard feel like home for me in a way that no other space on campus does.

Favorite office resource: Yoga mats (for some much-needed midday stretches) and the microwave.

Favorite way of practicing self care: I have the tendency to power through the day or week or month with my mind continuously on my to-do list. It’s hard for me to take a mental break and relax until I check off every task, so stopping to sit down, drink some tea and talk about how I’m feeling with a friend or fellow peer-ed is a really important way that I check-in with myself and pause to reevaluate where I’m at before I dive back into my work. Sometimes I realize that I need to drop some things from the list, and that’s ok!

Part of an ongoing series–see previous entries here.
Leave a Reply

