18 Things You Should Know About Sleep, According to a Sleep Doctor

duck ww

It can be hard to get a good night’s sleep, especially around midterms season. According to this Buzzfeed article, stress often causes sleeplessness and difficulties falling asleep. Check out this article if you want to learn more about sleep and how to improve your sleep in specific circumstances.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/mrloganrhoades/things-you-should-know-about-sleep-according-to-a-sleep-d

Personally, I am adamant about getting enough sleep in college. I learned my lesson in high school, where I consumed concerning amounts of coffee per day to combat my exhaustion from sleep deprivation. I usually aim for 8-9 hours per night, and I have a routine that I follow. I go to bed at the same time every night, usually starting to get ready for bed way earlier so that I give myself time to fall asleep without feeling pressure to. I shower to relax, and I read something fun (not schoolwork!) for few minutes to distract my mind before turning in. As for waking up in the mornings, nothing motivates me more than a cup of coffee (my everlasting love)! Getting enough sleep improves numerous aspects of my life…having energy throughout the day, paying better attention in class, getting sick less often, being in a more positive mental state, and being more productive. Why not start some new healthy sleep habits today?

And of course, the Well-Woman office has TONS of resources about improving sleep and reducing stress if you want to stop by for more information. Don’t forget to take care of yourself in this rough time of the semester!

Love Rachel Katz

Leave a Reply

