Gettin’ Busy

A friend just posted this article about the pervasive “I’m so busy” complaint/excuse/assertion that on this campus, is a generally accepted response to the question “how are you?” The article aims to promote mindfulness in considering how we actually spend our time, and maybe even more importantly, how we choose to talk about it. Of course, there are times when I am actually overwhelmed and feel like I can’t think straight because of the length of my to-do list; but being more deliberate about when I choose to employ that excuse is something I can commit to.

Yes, midterms are happening, and this may feel like a particularly crazed moment to post an article about mindfulness in how we talk about our schedules, but maybe this is a better time than any other to reconsider this “too busy” narrative we’ve gotten so comfortable with. Check it out and see if any of the methods help you feel more in control of your time!

http://online.wsj.com/articles/SB10001424052970203358704577237603853394654

xx,

— Gabrielle.

One thought on “Gettin’ Busy

  1. Wow, I was so surprised by some of the points in the article. As someone who loves to claim I’m busy and over scheduled, I definitely could use the reminder to be more mindful of how I spend my time. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

