My Philosophy on Running

Some of the things that people love to hate I find can be quite wonderful and vastly under appreciated. One of them is broccoli, another is running. I don’t run to become fast or “in-shape,” and I don’t run to check exercising off the long list of things I have to do. I run because fresh air and a little hard breathing makes me feel better every time. I run because it allows me to reflect and momentarily escape from whatever I need to escape from. Sometimes it’s a space to be sad about a fight I had with a friend, or frustrated about a bad grade on a test, or overjoyed about exciting news. No matter the mood I’m in, running allows me to process my emotions and put them in perspective. It reconnects my mind with my body, which is all too often ignored amidst late nights of homework and the immense amount of stress that seems inescapable while being a student at Barnard. Running reminds me to treat myself well.

I would urge everyone to find something that can do for them what running does for me. Running isn’t your thing? There are tons of different wellness activities that have different results for different people, and the best way to find out what works for you is to try lots of different ones!

Running with Rosie is the Well-Woman running group, and meets on Thursdays at 4:15 in 119 Reid.

One thought on “My Philosophy on Running

  1. Thank you for posting this Rosie! Very inspirational as we get back into school after break.

Leave a Reply

