Good Mornings

I am one lucky gal – for a number of reasons. But the reason I’m thinking of is this: I don’t have class until 11:40 a.m. That’s right. The earliest I have to be out of the door in the morning is 11:20. It isn’t even that I’m not a morning person – I am! In fact, being a morning person is the best part about not having early classes, because it leaves me the whole morning to do what I want. Usually this means working through the reading (dense, tricky, long) for my Critical Approaches to Social and Cultural Theory class… but not until after I’ve set aside some time to wake up well. You don’t need to be an early riser to have a great morning, but I find that my best days start with at least fifteen slow minutes of easing in.

Here’s what that looks like:

1. Breakfast – the most important (and most delicious) meal of the day. I eat it sitting down at my desk, where I can look out onto Claremont Ave. Recipe for granola coming soon.
2. Coffee, of course. (“The tenth way of knowing,” har har)
3. The Writer’s Almanac, because who doesn’t want to hear Garrison Keillor read them a poem every morning?
4. Some morning music! Here’s a little fall morning playlist for you, from me.

 

Leave a Reply

