An Everlasting Meal: Food & Philosophy

Click the picture to go to her website.

I must admit, I’ve become a bit of a foodie since winter break. I taught myself how to cook (and since it’s “pics or it didn’t happen” on the internet, click here for the images to prove it) and have ever since been looking for ways to incorporate that cooking knowledge into the everyday hustle and bustle of college life.

So, you can imagine the excitement that I had when I read about this book, An Everlasting Meal, on the New York Times Wellness blog. Taking the fear out of cooking? Talking home cook philosophy instead of chef-based? No crazy recipes or ingredients that I would have to go all the way out to Queens for? Sign me up!

The book just came in for me today and I started reading it right away, ignoring all my other studies. From the first few pages, I am smitten. Tamar Adler talks about food in a ritualistic and practical way – her first chapter mimics the “how to boil water” crowd and tries to make good use of that water too (for instance, after cooking veggies, you can boil your pasta in that water, siphon a little bit of it out once the pasta’s done, add cheese and oil to make a light sauce!). And from the first page on, she dispenses some good de-stressing wisdom, not just applicable to cooking, but to life as a whole.

All I can say is that so far this book is like Bird by Bird for cooks. Applicable in so many ways to so many aspects of life, although it appears from the outside to be on a specific mission. Snag a copy if you can or check it out from the library in your (copious) free time – it’s worth the study break.

Leave a Reply

