face down, ass up, clothes off, broke off, dozed off

Remember 3LW? I bet you don’t remember that they were SO YOUNG! When 3LW (3 Little Women) released “No More” (AKA my JAM when I was 12), Kiely Williams (the one who rapped, duhhhh) was only fifteen. Then she was in the Cheetah Girls. Do you remember the Cheetah Girls? I don’t either, really, because I stopped watching the Disney Channel after they canceled “Even Stevens”. Anyway, Kiely Williams did that when she was 18. The reason I keep emphasizing her age is that even though Kiely Williams has been a musical virtuoso in the public eye (nope!) for ten years, she is still VERY YOUNG and perhaps we can cut her some slack for this:

No? You don’t want to cut her some slack?

Yeah, apparently Kiely, the same girl who said to her boyfriend “hey yo you promised me kate spade /
but that was last year boy in the eighth grade”, is not such an LW anymore. She is also apparently trying to be the face of everyone’s Date Rape Summer Anthem 2010! I mean… “What he did to me last night felt so good / I must have been on drugs / I hope he used a rubber / Or I’mma be in trouble / Problem is,I don’t remember.” Oh, Kiely. I know we are living in an era in which nothing is as it seems. And I am also quite aware that we can write songs that Make Statements and that often the speaker of a song isn’t the same as the writer, and that we oughtn’t confuse the two. Perhaps Kiely is making a statement about date rape, and how trivialized it has become in our society, in an elaborate work of social commentary…

ahhaha WHOOPS. GUESS I WAS WRONG ABOUT THE SOCIAL COMMENTARY.

2 thoughts on “face down, ass up, clothes off, broke off, dozed off

  1. I just threw up a little in my mouth.

    I threw up chicken and rice and girl power.

  2. I reallyyyyyy hope she surprises us with a follow up song…you know, after the 6 month window period. Probs the only way she can redeem herself. Oh, Kiely.

Leave a Reply

