The Snooki Punch

So, have y’all been watching Jersey Shore? I have. Full disclosure: I LOVE IT. Really. These people are crazy but actually kind of loveable (except for some of them). Anyway, I’m not just blogging about how much I’ve been enjoying this show. I finally got around to watching last night’s episode. Some of you might know about the controversy over it. What happened was, Nicole (affectionately known as Snooki), got punched in a bar. This clip, which MTV used over and over again to promote the show, was hard to watch, mostly because it was a clean shot right to the face–not to mention it was a huge male gym teacher punching a girl who’s shorter than five feet. Anyway, there was a huge uproar over MTV showing the footage, and it turned into a whole discussion about violence against women. Which, you know, yeah. That’s a problem. But I was sort of surprised at my own reaction. I hadn’t really thought about it as gendered violence–they were yelling at each other about a stolen drink, and got into a bar fight. The show featured another bar fight a few episodes ago. But suddenly there was all this uproar, like I said, about violence against women. And I’ve been thinking about it, but I still haven’t really decided how I feel. Here’s what I know: MTV pulled the clip from the broadcast, but only after using it excessively to promote the episode. And you can see the footage pretty much anywhere on the internet–I won’t link to it, but if you want to see it, it’s out there. MTV was obviously not on top of its game on this one–pretending like they had no idea it would be controversial and announcing last minute that they were pulling it. Yeah, okay MTV. They also put a screen shot at the end with a link to a website about violence against women and said “Violence against women in any form is a crime.”

The thing is, like, isn’t violence against ANYONE a crime? I just keep coming back to the fact that the reason this clip was so controversial and the first bar fight wasn’t is because one of them was against a defenseless woman and one of them was against a man. Don’t get me wrong, there are blah blah blah connotations gender la la but the reason this was so upsetting to me was because of her size, not her gender. I don’t know. HOW OFFENSIVE AM I? Anyone else watch it?

Leave a Reply

