13 and 15 year old couple have a baby

The Sun broke the news today that Alfie Patten, 13, and Chantelle Steadman, 15, gave birth to a baby girl:

Baby-faced Alfie, who is 13 but looks more like eight, became a father four days ago when his girlfriend Chantelle Steadman gave birth to 7lb 3oz Maisie Roxanne.

He told how he and Chantelle, 15, decided against an abortion after discovering she was pregnant.

The shy lad, whose voice has not yet broken, said: “I thought it would be good to have a baby.

“I didn’t think about how we would afford it. I don’t really get pocket money. My dad sometimes gives me £10.”

I don’t even know where to begin with this. On one level, this is clearly about choice (to not have an abortion); but on another, it’s also about teen pregnancy education. Patten and Steadman are currently taking steps to becoming responsible parents, but what could the UK have done to improve safer sex education? Also, is it just me, or is the fact that a boy who just hit puberty is having a child extremely disconcerting? Read more (look at the picture of Patten, who looks like a child himself) and discuss!

One thought on “13 and 15 year old couple have a baby

  1. So every time I log on to my AOL account to check e-mail, I see this picture of the 13 year old who may or may not have fathered a child. The first time I read the article, I was like, “Wow, this little kid is very young looking.” The first time I read it was here. Now I see the article/report everywhere. Now I’m asking myself, “Why?” You walk down the streets of Williamsburg or go uptown to Washington Heights and you will see young teenage girls walking with strollers. Sometimes you will see a young girl with a stroller and a toddler walking down the streets or sitting in a local hospital’s emergency room or pediatrics clinic. So, why is there a big hype about this 13 year old boy? Is it because he looks very young? Is it because this couple is White? What is it? Please don’t get me wrong, I am glad that teen pregnancy is being talked about again, but why now? Why after a while of silence?

Leave a Reply

