BoredatButler.com

Recently I visited www.boredatbutler.com for the second time in my Barnard career. The first time being freshman year when I didn’t really know what was going on and didn’t know how to articulate my thoughts better. Now, looking at this site I realized how ridiculous it is. I don’t know if you’ve ever visited it but its more than a site to blog about boredom. It seems like a site for people to relish in their anonymity and write things they might be embarrassed to say otherwise. Some examples being: ” does anyone want to make-out? i’m decent…and not so clingy…but totally down for a hot make-out whenever wherever” and ” i am currently juggling a few potential boyfriends, my ex-boyfriend, some friends with benefits, and finals” and a queer man admitting he performed oral sex with his roommate when his roommate was passed out. I’m feeling turned off by this site as it promotes this kind of discussion but at the same time, if people are writing it, then there must be a need for a site like this where stressed out people write their inner-most thoughts.  I just have  a feeling that this talk doesn’t occur outside of a site like this and I wish it did. What do others feel about boredatbutler.com?

2 thoughts on “BoredatButler.com

  1. I don’t think that boredatbutler was ever a place for inane conversation to begin with. My understanding is that Butler (and… most libraries?) are kind of a fetishized hot spot for random but gratifying sexual encounters. I’d love to know if anyone has insight on this… it MUST be related to the extreme fetish over Tina Fey / sexy librarian types.

    Also, for some proof in the media that people are obsessed with sex in the library:
    – Owen Kline’s masturbation scene in the library, The Squid and the Whale
    – The Friends episode, “The One With Ross’ Library Book”

  2. I have some friends who also admit having had sex on the dark butler stacks

Leave a Reply

